The Mad Tatter by J.M. darhower

Book Synopsis:

Reece Hatfield has just one rule when it comes to falling in love: don’t fucking do it. There’s no room in his life for another person. He can barely keep a handle on things as it is. A shadow of the man he used to be, Reece spends his days tattooing, the artist inside of him longing for the chance to do something different. Avery Moore is all dance, all the time. Ballet is all she’s ever known, and she’s damn good at it. Her body is her art, a living canvas that captivates Reece the first time he lays his eyes on her. He yearns to leave his mark on her body… in more ways than one. The tattooed degenerate with a shady past. The beautiful ballerina with a bright future. They live in different worlds, yet somehow, they fit. But just because they fit doesn’t mean they belong together. Cracks sometimes form. Two pieces don’t always make a whole. The course of love never did run smoothly. Things get messy. And Reece doesn’t do messy. Not anymore.

My Thoughts:

I’ve been on a bit of a book hangover the last few days. Well. That’s kinda not true. I’ve just been stuck in my own head and it’s been hard to get out off. But. I did read an okay book today. At this point you may be seeing a bit of a pattern with me. I like..no, I love dudes with ink. The more tats the better in my opinion so Reece was right up my alley. I mean, how the hell do you NOT be turned on by a man who is hot, makes art, has a felony and is on probation, and spoiler alert, has a kid.

Yeah the last one normally isn’t my cup of tea. I mean yes it’s great when a guy takes care of his kid, but uh baby you not getting an award for taking care of your fucking responsibilities. Sorry, that trope doesn’t get to me cause I know where there’s a baby daddy, there is an assload of baby mama drama and I just ain’t got time for bitter women cause they all are for some reason. By the way, can I get a story with a single dad that has a baby mama who is alive and they co-parent in peace please?? Cause I’m so tired of authors who make the baby mama all mad and just trying to suck the life out of a so-called ‘good man’. I mean yes I get it, there are plenty of women out there like Reece’s baby mama but there are also women who are just fine with their baby daddy’s having a life as long as he’s in the child’s life. Yes, he is a bad boy, yes, he can lay it down like a pimp but obviously there is a reason they didn’t make it. And that’s ok too cause not everyone stays together.

*rolls eyes* Sorry I’ll get off my soapbox now. Reece is a cool guy if not a little angsty for me. I know he’s an artist and while I am aware they can be moody as fuck since I’ve been married to one for over 12 years, Reece was a little much for me. And I may have sighed a few times during his inner monologues and whispered ‘nut up’ a few times but I did enjoy this story. I kinda felt like the romance was an after thought here tho. Yes he was in Avery but it didn’t really read like a Darhower normal book. Still it was a solid 3.5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️s for me

Leave a comment