Into the Drowning Deep-Mira Grant — May 20, 2018

Into the Drowning Deep-Mira Grant

34523174

So. *ahem* I suck. *sighs* Yeah, this last few weeks has been rough. I have just been so unmotivated. But I’m gonna do this now. So here goes.

I read Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant this week. I love Ms. Grant by the way. She’s one of my favorite authors and her books never fail to make you smile, cry, and cringe in terror. And Into the Drowning Deep did not disappoint. Her series Newsflesh is one that made me question everything I ever knew about zombies. If you haven’t read those, I definitely recommend them as they bring a unique view to zombies and apocalyptic end times that I think is wonderful.

In this book, Ms. Grant takes on the ocean and some of its amazing mysteries. In the book, we follow different characters as they take a cruise thru the Marianas Trench in search to the age old question: do mermaids exist?. Imagine Entertainment needs ratings. They NEED to find out that something legend is fact. So they create a mockumentary in search for the elusive myth of women who have tails instead of legs, who sing instead of speak and who lure sailors to their deaths for fun. In truth, this is the second cruise that was taken for discovery. The first crew didn’t make it back unfortunately.  That’s why it’s so important that they discover something this time. Their reputation is in tatters and instead of finding mermaids, the network was accused of creating a hoax in the name of good television. So this trip is imperative to bringing them back to being a legitimate network.

That is the simplified version of what this book is about. But in actuality, it’s so much more. Tory is the sister of one of the original cruise who disappeared all those years ago and she’s made it her life’s work to locate those bitches who pulled her sister to her death. I mean it. She legit became a marine biologist to be able to find those monsters who dragged her sister to a watery grave. She signs up for the second cruise and while out at sea, the monsters attack. Instead of beautiful women who have nice racks and flippy tails, they find sharp-teethed beings that are a lot smarter than most people think.

I have a confession to make. Again. I am not really a mermaid fan. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I love seeing pictures of mermaids. I have watched The Little Mermaid but I’m not really an Ariel fan. I’ve been to the ocean since I live in South Carolina and it doesn’t really hold an appeal to me. But I loved the sirens in this book. They were bad-ass and they knew how to really wreck up a body count. Tory was one of my favorites of the book, as well as Dr. Jillian who was along for the ride to prove that her job as a sirenologist was actually not a waste of student loans. It was very suspenseful and kept me completely entertained.

img_0013-3img_0013-3img_0013-3img_0013-3 out of 5 stars

Advertisements
Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs — May 6, 2018

Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs

I haven’t written lately, well because I haven’t really been reading, truthfully. Life is…life and I’m finding it easier to focus if I don’t force myself to do something. But I digress from the reason I’m writing today.

I read a book! Yes, that’s kinda what this blog is about, I know, but see previous paragraph. I’ve been starting books but they haven’t stuck with me. But I started this book mainly because I LOVE Briggs and because she’s never really steered me wrong.

This book is the latest in the Alpha and Omega series. I have to say I haven’t been a huge fan of this series. I love The Mercy Thompson series but after Mercy, Anna just seems like a bit of a wet blanket most times. BUT Charles, her handsome, strong , Native American husband, and Mercy’s foster brother, is bae so I put up with it. And I’m glad I did cause it was quite good.

Anna and Charles are staying at Charles’ father’s home while Bryan, his da, is away. Bran is Marrock, or leader, of the biggest werewolf pack in the North Hemisphere. And Bran had hopped a jet to Europe to save his foster daughter, Mercy, who has the uncanny ability to get into trouble without trying. This leaves Charles in charge of the pack until he gets back and also living in the same house of his stepmother, who both hate each other.

This leaves Charles looking for anything to get him out the house. He’s on a wellness check on one of the far reaching werewolves when he and Anna are attacked by an unknown source. They fight off the attacker but learn that there is an attack that is planned from the inside of the pack while Bran is away.

What follows was an action packed, whirlwind set of chapters. I love Charles and how he lets Anna save herself, which I think is awesome in a hero. Yes, she’s stronger with him but she’s strong without him also which he loves. Anna was less annoying than normal which might be why I liked this book like I did. She can be a bit of a downer at time and I have enough psychosis for two people. So I don’t really like reading about that. I did have a kind of change of heart with one of my nemesis’ in Briggs’ books. I normally HATE Leah, Charles’ stepmother with a passion of thousand’s suns but I liked her here. It has to be fucking exhausting being Bran’s wife and dealing with his shit and as much as I love Mercy, if I’d been her foster mother, I’d probably be tired of her shenanigans as well.

out of 5 stars.

Birthday Girl by Penelope Douglas — April 22, 2018

Birthday Girl by Penelope Douglas

39555142.jpg

Y’all. I’ve been in a bit of a book slump recently. I’ve been reading but I haven’t been reading, you feel me? *shakes head* Yeah, I don’t even know what the fuck that sentence means so you possibly can’t either. I guess what I meant is that the books I read were just filler. I would get thru one day to another with them. But they weren’t anything special. *smirks* I can think of a few people in my life who have fit that description too.

But anyway, I digress. Lately the books have just been there and I’ve not really thought much about them. And that’s totally not like me. Normally if I don’t like a book, or I’m not feeling it, I’ll let it go. I can drop a book in a heartbeat, with little remorse truthfully. And while the books I’ve read lately haven’t been bad, they definitely haven’t been anything to write home about either. Which means I had to resort to drastic measures. Meaning I re-read a book that I loved in the past just to get back on track. *shrugs* What can I say? I’m a sucker for a reunion.

But once I got my mojo back, I read Birthday Girl. And once I started I couldn’t stop. It was just that damn good. Now, I have a small secret that very few people know about me. I love smut. Smutty stories are the best! I read them, I write them, and I have since I was like 17 or so. Don’t ask. I was a weird kid. Anyways, back to the reason I’m here tonight.

I stumbled onto Birthday Girl just like I stumble onto a lot of my books: Goodreads. It’s a lot like a dealer or a pimp to me. I tell it what I want it and it delivers. every. time. And it did not disappoint with this one either. I haven’t read any of Ms. Douglas’ work before but believe me, I plan on changing that as soon as humanly possibly. But Birthday Girl was a great opening to her work I think.

This is Jordan and Pike’s story. Ok, Pike is a TERRRIBLE name for a hero but I kinda went with it. He’s hot for one, and for another, he’s hot so I can overlook a lot of shit in that case. Anyways, Jordan is 19 and Pike is 38. Yes, it is one of those stories! Don’t judge though, because I gotta say at 19, there were a lot of 38 year olds I would have loved to “hang out” with. *clears throat* Jesus, this review is kinda all over the fucking place.

Jordan meets Pike in a movie theater when they both check out a midnight showing of Evil Dead. She’s only there because she heads out of work early and her ride isn’t answering so she has some time to waste. Well, that and because Jordan has a thing for the classics…as witnessed by her ending up with a 38 year old. *smirk* So she’s warming up to this older dude, and after the movie, she’s seriously wishing her ride, AKA her boyfriend, doesn’t show up. And she’s in luck cause as she’s trying to call Cole, her bf, the hot older guy’s phone rings and they both realize they have something in common. Her boyfriend is none other than his 19 year old son. *squeals* I KNOWWWWWW!! It’s like an episode of fucking Springer, am I right??

Just when you think this relationship is over, Jordan and Cole have to move back home with Da-I mean, Pike. Seems Cole isn’t as awesome as Pike is and he needs to grow up some. And by that I mean, he needs to stop being a fucktard and actually grow a pair. So, off to Pike’s house they go, where the sexual tension is so deep that is amazing that they didn’t choke on it. What’s more, Cole never had any fucking idea. That might be cause he was thinking about other things but idk. Jordan and Pike sorta glance around each other for two-thirds of the book while they work thru that meddling problem of his kid aka her boyfriend.

But before you get skeeved out, Pike was a perfect gentleman. Well, until Jordan jumps him and then it’s on. He’s hot. Have I mentioned that yet? On a scale of one to boiling, he’s on fire. I’ve just got one thing to say about him and then I’ll leave it alone: he’s got fucking tattoos. Like lickable tattoos. *shrugs* It’s my goddamn kryptonite, what can I say?

But some may think the idea of the age difference is kinda taboo, I don’t really think it’s that bad. Jordan is of legal age, she is the one to take the first step, and has an old soul. NO, wait, I mean it. Chick has been thru some shit. Think Fiona Gallagher from Shameless, but less bitchy and slutty. Her parents are assholes, her sister is a stripper, her exs are all gigantic douchebags and she works in a bar. Girl needs some good times, let me tell ya. And Pike is that. That’s it. That’s the whole plot! It’s fucking genius. I wanna be half as good a writer as Douglas is because this sells fucking books.

Sure, they are a generation apart but they make each other laugh. They help each other around the house and they enjoy the time they have together. I am extremely naive when it comes to relationships but even I know that’s half the fucking battle. This books is fluffy and sexy and Pike is a DILF, which I am TOTALLY okay with. While the ending say me slight anxiety to which I am not going to go into cause you need to read this book, I loved this. I legitmately started this book this morning and I finished it like an hour ago. Its. that. damn. good. I promise. So go. Read this book. Even if you’re a dude. You’ll like it.  It has a babysitter scene. You’ll love it.

downloaddownloaddownloaddownload out of 5 stars.

Depression and Me — April 15, 2018

Depression and Me

So. This isn’t going to be my normal kind of post. But I felt I needed to explain my absence from the blog lately. And while I’m sure it shouldn’t matter since I don’t know how many people actually read this, I still felt like I needed to write something. So here goes.

I have depression. I’ve had it since I was a teenager. I’m not really sure when it started. There is no definitive date of before and after. I sometimes wish that there was. That way I could say why it started. And yes, I know it is a chemical imbalance in my brain but still I’d like to think that there was a reason that I feel the way I do.

For a long time, I chalked it up as being young. I was young so it made sense that I would be going thru shit, right? But when the blues didn’t go away no matter how much I wanted them to, I kinda figured that there might be a problem. Plus the inability to get out a bed became a problem in college you know?

Anyways, that brings me to reason for this post. My chemical imbalance still causes me problems 20 years later. I am unable to focus at times and I lose interest in the things that I like to do. I stop writing and stop thinking and stop…being me. I barely read during these times, spending more time staring at a TV screen or adult coloring because I can space out. And I go day by day waiting for the day that I was be so called normal again.

So I apologize if I disappear. I will try to not let the thoughts get the best of me. And I really hope that this maybe reaches someone who feels the same way.

Every Crooked Nanny by Kathy Hogan Trocheck — April 14, 2018

Every Crooked Nanny by Kathy Hogan Trocheck

Every Crooked Nanny (Callahan Garrity Mystery, #1)

Lately I’ve been in a mystery frame of mind. I listen to audiobooks on the way to and from work because…well, mainly cause I like books but also cause songs get stuck in my head and I sing them all. the. fucking. time. So yeah, audiobooks. And when I listen to audiobooks I tend to gravitate to mysteries because I like to focus on the whodunit instead of traffic. *shrugs*

I stumbled upon Every Crooked Nanny while aimlessly wandering thru Libby on Overdrive. If you haven’t checked out Libby, you need to. It’s this amazing  app that works with overdrive and your local library to provide audiobooks and ebooks. You can download them 24/7 and it’s super easy to use.

Anyway, Every Crooked Nanny is the first in the Callahan Garrity series by Trocheck. Callahan lives in Atlanta and owns her own cleaning service. She used to be a police officer but got out of it after she realized that the force was an all boys club. So now she owns her own cleaning service. And while it’s not as glamorous as being a cop, she likes it.

She is cleaning the house of an old sorority sister when she gets asked to look into the disappearance of her friend’s nanny. It seems that the nanny absconded from the house along with some important information that the husband of Callahan’s friend does NOT want getting out. Callahan has to find the nanny, hopefully alive, and get that information back and quickly.

Callahan is a great character. She’s honest, and she’s good at detective work. I love the supporting characters as well. Edna, Callahan’s mother, is hilarious and she is the quintessential southern mama. She tells Callahan like it is and she’s not afraid to hurt someone’s feelings. But she loves her daughter and Callahan loves her mama even though she drives her crazy.

The mystery is the best part of the book. You follow Callahan as she navigates thru love triangles, back room political deals and Mormon psychopaths to discover where the nanny is. The book is set in the early 90s in Atlanta so it is nice to take a walk down memory lane of the south during that time. And I have to say as this was an audiobook it was interesting to hear someone try to pull off a southern accent for over 11 hours. It was a bad southern accent by the way. lol

downloaddownloaddownloaddownload out of 5 stars

Hot and Badgered by Shelly Laurenston —

Hot and Badgered by Shelly Laurenston

hotandbadgered

Hot and Badgered is the first in a new series by Shelly Laurenston. If you’ve never read Laurenston, you need to first of all. And second of all, be prepared to fall into a world where people can turn into animals. I know! It sounds amazing, right?! She writes a series called The Pride series and it follows shifters from different animal groups who fall in love with each other.

This is Berg and Charlie’s book. I don’t remember reading of these two characters in her previous books but a large amount of her characters showed up in this book so I was happy about that. Berg is a grizzly bear and Charlie is a honey badger. Honey badgers are fucking crazy by the way. They get in all kind of shit, and apparently this even happens in the wild in real life. I didn’t realize that. But anyway, Charlie busts into Berg’s hotel room in Milan, naked and on the run from dudes with guns, and its kinda love at first sight for Berg. Chaos follows as Charlie has to find out who the dudes with guns are and Berg has to help her figure out why they want to kill her.

Berg is sweet and cuddly, just like the teddy bear he can change into. Charlie is a tough chick and I kinda wanna be her when I grow up. I loved them both and while I wasn’t sure about the romance part of the book, I definitely thought that the book worked. I loved Charlie’s sisters and I can’t wait to read more of them in the future Honey Badgers series. I’ve been reading Ms. Laurenston’s stuff for a really long time. Each book is full of action, steamy sex and hilarious snarky characters. And Hot and Badgered is another great addition to her books.

downloaddownloaddownloaddownload out of 5 stars

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews — March 25, 2018

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

20705702

Ok, don’t judge a book by it’s cover. I gotta say that when I first saw this book, I was like uhhhh yeah nooooo. Half naked dudes on covers are a thing of the past for me, or so I thought until I read this book based on a review I saw on Booktube. The Novel Lush recommended this series if you liked Urban Fantasy and as we know by now, I love me some fantasy books. I have tried reading Ilona Andrews before but I couldn’t really get into it so I was kinda afraid to try another one of the books. This book is the first in the Hidden Legacy series.

I was pleasantly surprised with this book though. This book centers around Nevada, who lives in Houston, but a Houston that is full of magic. A serum has been located and it allows people to discover powers that had never been realized before. Nevada lives with her mom, grandmother, two younger sisters, and two younger cousins. They all work for the family detective agency and are surviving. They are mortgaged to the hilt to a magical house who is calling in the loan. BUT they will forget that if Nevada can hunt down Adam Pierce, a pyromancer, who is crazy and shoots fire from his whole body.

Nevada starts investigating and draws the attention of the crazy fire dude which is bad. Along the way she gets kidnapped by Mad Rogan, a man who is trying to find Adam Pierce himself. Just like the name suggests, Mad Rogan is a little cray cray himself. He kidnaps Neva and tries to get her to tell him where Pierce is but Nevada has a secret: she can tell when people are lying and it keeps her from being truthed also. After keeping Nevada for a few hours, Mad Rogan takes her home but he doesn’t let it go at that. He says they need to join together to find Adam Pierce and so they buddy up.

I liked this book. Like I said before, I like Urban Fantasy so this was definitely up my alley. I didn’t really feel the romance too much but I hope that that part gets better. I just didn’t see Nevada and Mad Rogan lasting since he had kidnapped her and I kinda think he’s a homicidal maniac, but I guess if that changes, maybe it will get better. I think what I loved the most was the family element. Nevada’s family was hilarious and her mama and grandmama makes me think a lot of my own family. Don’t mess with a southern mama or else.

downloaddownloaddownload and half out of five

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard —

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

img_0006

This week was a slow read week. I work full time and sometimes taking time to read is harder than you think. That’s when I start relying on audio books. I drive about 45 minutes to work everyday one way so I spend a LOT of time in the car. I could either listen to music or audio books. I choose audio books about 9 times out of ten just because I like escaping into another world more than singing.

Anyways, I chose Truthwitch for my first read. It is a book I happened to pick up on BookOutlet for a steal and it had been sitting on my shelf for about six months or so collecting dusk. Don’t get me wrong. The cover and the synopsis were both epic looking but there have been better books to read lately so I’ve let it molder a little. But I thought why not try to the audio and I’m glad I did.

Truthwitch is a tale of two friends, Safi and Iseult, who love each other very much. Safi is a truthwitch who can tell when someone is lying which I think would be a great power to have. Would have saved me a lot of heartache in the past. Iseult is a threadwitch, which means that she can tell when people are connected. The best thing about the girls is that by being so connected, their powers grow and they work best together.

Things are changing though in their small hamlet. The powers that be have decided that the twenty year truce that has existed between them has to come to end and that leaves the girls in a pickle. They have to fight their way thru battle monks, stop a crew from being killed by sea foxes all while falling in love with the men of their dreams. This is the first book in a new series by Susan Dennard and I thought it was a solid start.

I really enjoyed this book. Yes, it seemed very familiar to the Grishaverse books by Leigh Bardugo. They were still good in their own right and I’m gonna continue the series because I really would like to see where the series goes.

downloaddownloaddownloaddownload out of 5

High Voltage by Karen Marie Moning — March 17, 2018

High Voltage by Karen Marie Moning

download (3)

This week’s read was one I’ve been waiting for. It is the 10th book in the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. And as it centers around my favorite character of all time, Dani, I was so ready to read it.

If you haven’t read the Fever series, this isn’t the book to start. Why you would want to read a book reported to be 10th in a series not reading the other books, I don’t know. If that’s your jam, you do you, boo, but I can’t do that shit. So yeah, I’ve read the other books that are part of the series. With the other books, you’ll get a view of Dublin that’s fighting to stay alive once the Wall between the Faery wall and the human world goes down. This series is urban fantasy at its best. Mac, the lead in the other books, is the perfect heroine, one who runs in to save everyone selflessly while putting herself in jeopardy. Along the way her circle of allies grows and expands until the dream team that can bring about the change Dublin and its people needs.

This book follows Feversong,  so times have changed. The Song of Making has been sung and things are slowly getting back to a level normal. Or as normal as can be if Faery are real and people are superheroes. Dani is the leading superhero in this ragtag group of people. She has the ability to move fast, has super hearing, and she can fight like no one’s business. Her sister from another mister, Mac, is in Faery trying to save their lives and Dani is in Dublin, trying to bring the city back to life. She’s alone, with only her best friend Shazaam, a tubby Hel-Cat to keep her company and missing Ryodan, the love of her life. He’s left because Dani needs to take some time to think about things.

Two years pass and things are getting better. Or if not better, then at least its not worst. But just like any good book, happiness does not create turning pages so yeah there’s a problem. A new group of baddies, known as the Old Gods, are back to make those left behind wish that they had been killed before the Song was sung.

Lord, y’all, you just don’t know how long I waited for this book. Dani as I mentioned before was my favorite character in the series. Don’t get me wrong, I like Mac. She will always be my Rainbow Girl but Dani is more like me than I’d like to admit. She’s dark but she is surviving and that’s all we can ask for right? So yeah I was ready but I was also scared. I was scared because I didn’t really like Feversong. It wasn’t that it was a bad book, far from it. I just didn’t like the way it went, which is more my fault than the author’s.

I worried from the first cover reveal of this book that is was gonna suck. (And I hate the cover, btw) I just KNEW with every fiber of my being that I was gonna read it and I’d be so disappointed that throw a tantrum and never read another book by Moning. I’m a Moning fan from way back. I’ve been reading her since Kiss of the Highlander took us to the Scottish Highlands and introduced us to the world of Druids and Fae. Which is another reason I was was worried. I have discovered over time that authors I loved previously aren’t the same as they use to be.

But I’m sure as you’ve discovered from all the foreshadowing I’ve put in this review, that didn’t happen. I liked it! Was it perfect? Nope. Was I wishing there was more to it? Yep. But its not my book to write. And as a writer, I’m not gonna knock someone else’s art. I loved the interplay between Ryodan and Dani. But I’ve always been more interested in those two than Mac and Barrons. Don’t shot me. I know Barrons is the beginning and ending of all alpha men and he is pretty awesome with Mac but Ryodan is my favorite book boyfriend. Shazaam is so great and I am so happy at the end of the book. I won’t say too much about the story other than to say that it would make a great stand alone book. I thought that the glimpse back at Dublin and the characters that I’ve grown to love over this series.

Now to the stuff that I didn’t like so much. I wasn’t a fan of the tense change that happened to Kat. At first it was third person but midway thru one of her scenes, it switched to first person. While I didn’t like it, it wasn’t enough to make me stop reading. There were some parts that did remind me of earlier books with Mac, but I kinda expected that. I mean, this is the tenth book. And they all relate to the same world. There is going to be some overlap probably. It wasn’t like some books I’ve read where the names have been changed to protect the innocent, no wait, to make more money and sell a new book.

Dani reminded me that its okay to not be okay. Her ability to compartmentalize things might not be the sanest thing but it works and I’ve been using it for years. One of my favorite things about Dani is that while she really could just ball up in a fetal position because of her past, she doesn’t. She keeps on going. After losing Dancer, one of the loves of her life, she doesn’t let it stop her from going out and saving the world. And also discovering another love. A love who allowed her to figure out for herself who she was instead of pushing her to something that she wasn’t ready for. That to me is what love is.

downloaddownloaddownloaddownload and a half stars out of 5

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black — March 11, 2018

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

5183qQfkZCL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

You guys!! You guys!! *holds book up and shakes it frantically* Y’ALLLLLLL! This book was everything I never thought I needed. I loved it and I hated it and I wanted to cry, scream, laugh, and beat someone up all in the space of almost 400 pages.

I knew going in that this was gonna be good. I mean it’s Holly Black so yeah. I think that woman could write in her sleep and it would come out to be prize winning. I’m a fan from way back. I think I first read Tithe when I was in my senior year of college and I was blown away. That was over 15 years ago. Yes I know I’m old. Anyways, back to what I was saying, I mean, first Tithe, it’s about fae and I LOVE fae stories. Second, it’s so well written that it had the ability to suck you into Kaye’s story so deeply that you don’t want to come back to reality. So. Yeah, another fae book from Holly Black = one happy me.

The Cruel Prince is dark. I mean, dark as the darkest night. And I LOVED it! Jude, the protagonist, is amazing. She’s good and yet she isn’t. But growing up as she does, you kind of expect that. The book starts with a 7 year old Jude letting a large man into her house much to her mother’s dismay. Cause this man is the man her mother fears the most, the man she had run from, faked her own death to get away from. And Jude just let him in the front door. In Jude’s defense though, if her momma had told her that fairies were real and they didn’t look like Tinker Bell, she probably wouldn’t have let him in the door.

The man, Madoc, is Jude’s mother’s first husband. And he’s not too happy discovering that his wife, his supposedly dead wife, has stolen his child and run away from with another man. Who she then marries and has kids with…all while Madoc thinks his family has been burned alive. Crazy, huh? But Madoc is back. And he wants his family back. Unfortunately, his wife isn’t too keen about being his wife again which causes a problem for Madoc. But he solves that by killing her and her husband with quick skill. At which time he has to figure out what to do with her kids.

So he grabs them. He tells Vivi, his child, to grab her sisters and pack cause they were going with him. To which Vivi kindly tells him to fuck off. Maybe not in those words but you get the idea. However once he explains that if he leaves them they will die, she sees the light and starts getting them ready.

The girls, Jude and Taryn, along with Vivi are raised by Madoc in Faery. And while many may think it’s weird that Madoc is raising his wife’s bastards he doesn’t seem to think there is anything wrong. And if the girls aren’t exactly the most popular children among the Gentry, the fae nobility children, then at least they have each other, right? Think of the Kardashians but better looking when you think of the Gentry. Anyway her tormenters, led by Prince Cardan, youngest son of the High King, remind Jude everyday that she doesn’t belong, that she’s mortal and she will never be good enough. But she is going to show them just how wrong they are and how a mortal can bring about change in the world Under the Hill.

It is safe to say I loved this book. Jude is my favorite followed closely by Vivi. She is believable and as the child of parents that may not have been the best, I can see why she struggled so with her feelings for Madoc. We can’t help the ones we love even when they hurt us and no one can hurt you quite like your parental units.

Many nights I drifted off to sleep to his rumbling voice reading from a book of battle strategy. And despite myself, despite what he’d done and what he was, I came to love him. I do love him.

Cardan I will probably loathe until the day I die. I am all for bad boys that redeem themselves. However, he never does. If anything he’s even more annoying at the end of the book than he is scary at the beginning. And I get it. He’s a prince, with a lot of responsibilities, and he’s not as bad as he wants you to believe, yadda, yadda, yadda. To which I say, he makes her eat fruit that drugs her and then makes her get naked. In the middle of her classes. With everybody and their momma making fun of her. So yeah, Cardan can suck it. Grr.

Vivi is the sister I always wanted as a kid. She is willing to stick her neck out for her sister and yet will give Jude shit about it even when she shouldn’t. I LOVED the plot twist about her and I can’t wait to see where that goes.

Taryn. Jesus, Taryn. I get Taryn. Hell, I was Taryn growing up, and maybe today also. She is making the best of a bad situation. She can’t accumulate like Jude. She doesn’t have the fight like Jude does and so I get that she’s put in a bad position. Her sisters are her family though and I think she forgets that. I think Taryn wishes she was Jude in a lot of ways that Jude wishes she was Taryn. But while the girls are twins, they are NOTHING alike.

“I mean, I think I could stand being teased and being made to cry if you didn’t know about it.” She gives me a steady look, as though evaluating how much truth I can handle. “I can’t just pretend my day was fine with you as a witness to what really happened. Sometimes it makes me not like you.”

Madoc was another one of my favorites. I hated him. But I loved him also. I grew up in a world where Madoc was a lot like my father. He didn’t kill anyone but he wasn’t the best dad either. So I get Jude’s conflicted feelings as she tries to understand the feelings that arise against parents who aren’t ideal. Madoc is terrible, but he’s her terrible. He’s the only terrible that she will ever know since he killed the only other father she had.

I look deep into his eyes as I sheathe my sword. “Father, I am what you made me. I’ve become your daughter after all.”

This book. So good and I can’t wait for the next installment which isn’t until 2019. Excuse me while I go cry for a little while.

downloaddownloaddownloaddownload out of 5 stars.